FacebookTwitterDiggGoogle BookmarksRedditLinkedinRSS Feed
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
The Caboose is a place for Reading Modeler members to hang out and discuss topics of general interest, not necessarily rail-related. Come on in, the coffee's hot and the conversation is stimulating!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Reading Lines hoppers

Reading Lines hoppers 9 years 4 months ago #3804

I was able to buy a set of MTH Reading Lines coal hoppers in green. Is this a prototypical color for Reading Lines?
I'm hoping that somebody with more knowledge of the Reading railroad, then me, would know for sure. Thank you.

Lee Fritz
My grandfather, C. D. Fritz, retired from the Reading Company.
I graduated from Muhlenberg High in Laureldale PA.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Reading Lines hoppers 9 years 4 months ago #3805

• 2771-chris
  • Road Foreman of Engines
  • Thank you received: 94
Lee...what scale are your MTH cars?If ho,the only cars that I know of that MTH produced were the gondolas.They were painted green with yellow lettering.
As far as RDG hopper cars used for coal,ore and stone service,they were painted black.Rdg also converted some of their 50ft offset hoppers into covered hoppers for sand service and I believe at least one of them was painted green with yellow lettering.

Reading Lines hoppers 9 years 4 months ago #3809

• Turboboost910
  • Conductor
  • Thank you received: 17
2771-chris wrote:
Lee...what scale are your MTH cars?If ho,the only cars that I know of that MTH produced were the gondolas.They were painted green with yellow lettering.
As far as RDG hopper cars used for coal,ore and stone service,they were painted black.Rdg also converted some of their 50ft offset hoppers into covered hoppers for sand service and I believe at least one of them was painted green with yellow lettering.