FacebookTwitterDiggGoogle BookmarksRedditLinkedinRSS Feed
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
The Caboose is a place for Reading Modeler members to hang out and discuss topics of general interest, not necessarily rail-related. Come on in, the coffee's hot and the conversation is stimulating!
  • Page:

TOPIC: XMt & XMtx

XMt & XMtx 10 years 3 months ago #2513

• Rob
  • Road Foreman of Engines
  • Thank you received: 57
I have been eyeing up the Broadway Limited NYC boxcars lately. In fact Factory Direct trains is running a sale on them now which peaked my attention. From 1925 and into the sixties Reading had 500 XMt class cars that had the same 4 panel sides as this BL model. We have been using the similar PRR car for XMt and XMu boxcars because they are close..... The much produced PRR X-29 has 5 panels though.
This might go for the XMu class cars also, to a degree, at least a better choice if your kit bashing a car with the flat end.

I am not an expert on boxcar ends for sure but I am looking at a car that almost has to be closer then an X-29. The biggest question is probably roof and end detail now (doors are an easier fix) The cars listed for sale have either a dreadnaught end or a "corrugated" end. The Reading's ACF produced XMt's 100000 to 100499 had a similar end, but I believe it was a Murphy end. The XMt photo on this website's box car roster is from the Standard batch and has the "flat" end, however the XMt shown in the Bossler "Color Guide' has the described end.

Anybody else that is more into ends check this out? Any other opinions out there? I am thinking maybe some Non-revenue or "historic resurrections" for my operations.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

XMt & XMtx 10 years 3 months ago #2514

• LNE-401
  • Conductor
  • Thank you received: 68