FacebookTwitterDiggGoogle BookmarksRedditLinkedinRSS Feed
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
What's the difference between a GP40-2 and GP39-2? What year did the Reading dieselize? How many tracks were in Rutherford Yard? This board focuses on a discussion of questions or issues concerning the "prototype" Reading Company and its predecessors. While the aim of this board is to serve as a resource for prototype information for modeling purposes, general discussion and sharing of knowledge is also encouraged.

TOPIC: Pigeon Point and Reading Delaware River Marine Ops

Pigeon Point and Reading Delaware River Marine Ops 10 years 5 months ago #2234

Hello all,

I am new to The Reading Modeler and I look forward to participating in such a great site.

I'm interested in the Reading's marine operations on the Delaware River, and I wonder whether anyone can direct me to good references on the subject, preferably with some photos of the tugs and carfloats that the Reading used. I've found one photo of the tug Brandywine on line, but no info about the car floats other than a reference to a three-track float in a legal document.

My particular interest is the float operation at Pigeon Point near Wilmington, Delaware. This float apparently served the DuPont Company Chambers Works chemical plant I across the river in Deepwater, NJ., and possibly another DuPont plant upriver at Thompson Point.

If anyone can provide more info about the Pigeon Point operation or photos of the float bridge, I would appreciate it. I'd also be interested to learn more about the "Millside Line" that connected Pigeon Point to the Wilmington and Northern line.

The remains of the Pigeon Point float bridge apparently still exist. I may try to document it by boat next spring when the weather warms up. If I do, I'll post some photos. Attached is a recent image from Bing Maps.

Thanks,

Charlie
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.