FacebookTwitterDiggGoogle BookmarksRedditLinkedinRSS Feed
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
This board is the place where questions and information specific to MODELING the Reading Company, its equipment and operations can be shared - questions like "What was the window arrangement of AF Tower in Alburtis?" and "What color paint do YOU use to paint the Reading's cream-and-brown buildings?" We also want to hear about YOUR Reading modeling projects!
  • Page:

TOPIC: Reading Diesels 1955- 1965 in HO

Reading Diesels 1955- 1965 in HO 8 years 11 months ago #4503

• Templin
  • Apprentice
I'm originally from Birdsboro and now live in NC. I'm planning on a new layout featuring my "home" area with both Reading and PRR. I have been able to find PRR diesels and rolling stock quite easily, but have not had much luck with Reading. I want DCC and sound in my diesels. Where can I find them? I'm a budget modeler and cannot afford a fleet of diesels at $300-400. Reliability and availability are more important at this stage. I'm just at the planning stage and any help with the diesels or maps,pictures of bridges, stations etc. from the Birdboro area during this time frame would be most appreciated. Thanks for your help!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Reading Diesels 1955- 1965 in HO 8 years 11 months ago #4506

• Rob
  • Road Foreman of Engines
  • Thank you received: 57
Patience...... They are out there and will come and go. As per diesels, your really looking for RS-3, GP-7 and some Baldwin and early EMD switchers for your local / W&N stuff. On the mainline side 1962 can justify some GP-30's in the 5500 series paint, but mostly F units.

You just have to watch, with the current "limited production" runs used to better control pricing they come out sporadically and you just have to watch your ads for deals.

Same with freight cars.... they come and go unless your decaling your own, you just have to wait and watch,...but they're out there