FacebookTwitterDiggGoogle BookmarksRedditLinkedinRSS Feed
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
This board is the place where questions and information specific to MODELING the Reading Company, its equipment and operations can be shared - questions like "What was the window arrangement of AF Tower in Alburtis?" and "What color paint do YOU use to paint the Reading's cream-and-brown buildings?" We also want to hear about YOUR Reading modeling projects!

TOPIC: Applying age old Reading decals

Applying age old Reading decals 7 years 11 months ago #5296

:dry: Good evening guys and gals of the Reading Company. I'm a newbie here to the group but an old guy when it comes to riding the Reading. I rode trains in the Philly area from the 1960's to early 1970's Those olive green commuter car beauties :silly: My serious question is: Does anyone with decalling experience have any advice with how I can apply 20 year old Bethlehem Car Works decals. They don't want to slide off in lukewarm water. I've tried 10 seconds, 30 seconds. No luck Are they just to old. Could the glue backer just not be reactive to water any longer? I would hate to make a mess of a good paint job after so much time was needed to build and paint the 6 coaches. Any suggestions would be appreciated. U Tube is like the weather channel. It changes from one minute to the next. Thanks guys.
Johnny C, Engineer, #413 The Rocket
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Applying age old Reading decals 7 years 11 months ago #5297

• Rob
  • Road Foreman of Engines
  • Thank you received: 57
Wow, that is a different one. I never really had the problem of the decal not coming off the paper, usually an old decal comes of the paper and floats off in six different directions.

The cure for that is an overspray or two of a clear coat to help hold them together. But I don't know what the deal is on the paper not wanting to separate.

Good luck on that one. Hope someone else has an answer.
Rob